Steal UGC ad formats from this brand

I even stole one. It worked.

What's up, Marketers! This is Aazar.

This newsletter is about leveling up your paid growth marketing skills by analyzing the best brands' paid strategy, tactics, positioning, and value props.

This newsletter is divided into:

  • Sharing what I've learned

  • Sometimes sharing some other performance marketers’ lessons with you

  • And I analyze & compare the best ads on the internet (this issue)

And welcome to the 110+ new subscribers who joined us since last week’s issue. Do check out these three blogs to get value from this newsletter immediately:

Also, last week, a couple of folks reached out for Marin’s resources and ads, so here are they:

I stole some UGC ad format ideas from this ad brand, which worked. 

I’ll share the format that won.

But let’s first look at what they’re doing really well.

The brand is called Opal. It’s a screen-time focus app that helps you reduce your social media and mobile addiction. I’m kinda obsessed with this ad account because they’ve done ads so well lately.

Let’s see why these ads are working.

Note: I’d recommend watching the videos first.

Also, you’ll see Atria’s links with the ads. Here’s why I switched to Atria from Foreplay and Magicbrief:

  • Amazing search UI. It was hard to find ads in other tools.

  • All-in-one creative strategist tool with script, concept, and brief ideas.

  • AI review mining and voice-over that enables me to make more winning ads.

  • Not 500K, but 5 million examples of ads. (And it’s not just other marketers who saved ads.)

You can give it a try here.

This ad has been running for 46 days. So, it’s a proven format you can steal. 

What immediately stands out:

  • The original didn’t perform, but the react ad did (I found this while researching)

  • ‘X is dead’ will forever be a scroll stopper and a great hook. It gets into the news element.

  • It’s critiquing consumerism and how we need to be in control.

  • The better way: You can’t argue what is right. It’s right to be in control of our hedonic desires: Playing mindfully.

  • They immediately show familiar faces to sell the narrative, even in the hook. This gets attention and consideration.

  • The best part – they didn’t even sell the product, they sold the idea. Obviously, Opal is the answer. 

  •  They used this script template:

    • Negative Marketing: The script highlights the negatives of the current situation to set the stage for a proposed solution.

    • Story: The script tells a story to connect emotionally with the audience and to make a point.

    • Question: The script poses questions to provoke thought and engage the audience.

Steal these ideas:

  • Find a great common enemy 

  • Call it dead

  • Deliver a larger-than-life message

  • Use familiar faces

  • Don’t sell the product, sell the idea

  • Steal the script format

This ad has been running for 45 days. So, it’s a proven format you can steal. 

What immediately stands out:

  • The hook: You’re an addict, chef’s kiss 

  • This ad is focusing on GenZs because they can still fix this problem

  • It’s evoking emotion by using:

    • Fear tactics: you’re losing time

    • Shock tactics: percentage of time spent looking at screens

    • Self-identify: look at you; you see yourself

  • The big idea: value your time and the quality of your life

  • Behavioral change: It’s inviting users to “create more than you consume and scroll.”

  • Authority and credibility bias: They used Taylor Swift; a bunch of 18-year-olds are crazy about her. They wanted to get the attention. They didn’t use Taylor’s image; they showed her on the phone. Smart.

  • The ad is fast-paced. GenZs love it. 

  • Again, they didn’t sell the product. GenZs don’t love being sold to. 

Steal this:

  • Gray hat strategy: Use celebrity faces on your phone to avoid getting blocked by FB.

  • Call out the worst behavior of your audience and present the idea.

  • Script template: PAS (Pain, Agitate, Solve)


Most importantly, invite the user to self-reflect. If they reflect, they’ll think and feel. Thinking and feeling will lead them to take action.

I desire to bring my readers the best information about advertising — at zero cost. In keeping with this theme, I’d like to thank our sponsors for today’s newsletter. By just clicking on the link below, you’re supporting this newsletter.

How does minisocial get you content that drives conversions?

By coupling micro influencer activations with content creation. With minisocial it's simple: take 10 minutes to submit your brief and they'll handle all the nitty gritty by booking your project with hand-selected creators to get the right content for your brand.

Join brands like Plant People, immi, Imperfect Foods, and Topicals and see results like TikTok ads performing in the top 1% CVR, a 50% decrease in costs per add-to-cart, 92% increase in organic video views, and over a 30% increase on ROAS.

Get started now for content your entire marketing team will love!

Plus no longterm comimemts make minisocial a no brainer! 🧠

P.S. It took me a while to get started with minisocial. They find vetted micro-influencers who post organically on their socials in exchange for a free product. Everything is managed; I don’t need to do anything except give my product for free. Plus, I get videos for ads for free. I’m giving it a try. Are you? Check their case study with Magic Spoon and Harry’s.

This ad has been running for 64 days. So, it’s a proven format you can steal. 

What immediately stands out:

  • Simple hook: I have ADHD (calling out the audience)

  • Use of social proof: But when I posted about it, everyone was like, no, use an app, like just use an app. But I was like, I'm too strong for the apps.

  • She loved the copywriting that made her feel out of this world. Words matter. 

  • The video ends abruptly: apparently there is no ending. It prompts the user to do something. I’m saying this because I made this mistake and conversions with the unfinished ads were higher. People want closure. How do they get it? By doing something – by taking action. Must be a mistake…but genius if it was deliberate.

  • She sold the product “nice to have feature” that felt important

  • Obviously, this ad doesn’t look like an ad from any angle

  • She was doing an act - Get ready with me + microphone format together. Loved it. 

Steal this:

  • Make a disbeliever ad like this

  • Hook the audience with someone like your ideal customer.

  • Your nice-to-have feature must be must-have for some - use it to stand out.

This ad has been running for 24 days. So, it’s a soon-to-be-proven format you can steal. 

What immediately stands out:

  • These ad formats are trendy on TikTok now. Stitching is fun these days, but these have a higher hook rate.

  • Two weeks ago, I shared this ad on social and people found it funny. (the hook is also funny.) I also started sharing my updates on LI, too.

  • She got the hook and told a nice message: Stop doom-scrolling

  • The end screen is important for the CTA

Steal this:

  • You can steal this format to improve the hook rate, or you can recreate something similar if you’re afraid of a copyright lawsuit.

  • I stole this format, and here are my numbers:

The hook rates are high, and hold rates are relatively low. It’s winning, but I need to wait 7 more days to make up my mind. I’ll share the results in the next newsletter.

Also, I tried this in the other ad account; it’s not winning even in the GenZ-focused brand. Look at the hold rate. 

Here’s why I think I am not getting better results:

  • The app is selling the big idea instead of selling the app. I’m selling directly.

  • The connection to the stitch with the video isn’t natural.

  • The message is emotional, and mine isn’t. So, I am going to iterate on it.

I still think you should give it a try if you’re a not-so-serious brand and focus on GenZs. 

This ad has been running for 26 days. So, it’s a soon-to-be-proven format you can steal. 

What immediately stands out:

  • The cinematic view in the hook is gripping

  • Relatable verbal hook: Lately I feel like I want to do everything

  • The ad is emotional, someone reflecting on the real problems in life 

  • The script beautifully uses a script framework called EMPATH (Engage, Motivate, Promote, Acknowledge, Tailor, Highlight)

  • It just makes people feel that they have time and that they too can get more done if they want to.

Steal this:

  • Bird’s-eye-view hook

  • Relatable verbal hook

  • The script template

Here’s what I learned from the Opal ad account:

  • Use public figures with smart phone view

  • Turn a disbeliever into a believer ad style format

  • If you’re selling to GenZs, sell the big idea, not the product.

  • Fight the enemy differently i.e. behavior (addiction) and lack of time 

  • Use fear and shock tactics with “missing out” or “losing time” and give big bold stats

  • Stitch incoming is definitely working for them. So, use this trend before it gets old

Important lesson: I also learned that their first ad didn’t work but that didn’t stop them. They tried multiple ways of showing the same ad until it proved itself. So, don’t give up on good ads too early. Trust your intuition.

Happy Growing with Paid Social,

Aazar Shad

Since this newsletter is free, I do it to follow my curiosity. But I’d love it if you could leave some feedback so I know if I am helping you or not.

What did you think of this newsletter? I appreciate your feedback!

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Three ways I can help you, whenever you are ready:

  • Work with me to get you growth from paid marketing. Book a call here. I’m open to more clients now.

  • Level up your paid marketing by joining my community, where we share the latest tactics and get nuanced paid marketing questions answered here (we are now 70+, but there is a waitlist to join).

  • Promote yourself to 12,600+ highly qualified paid marketers by sponsoring this newsletter. Advertise here.

Join the conversation

or to participate.